top of page

What is ITIL?

ITIL is the global best practices framework for IT service management frameworks.

Originally short for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, ITIL is considered the best framework for managing IT service delivery and operation around the world. ITIL defines a service lifecycle model that predicts the specific processes and activities that occur during the strategy, design, commissioning, operation and continuous improvement of IT services. According to the ITIL framework, IT services are any IT activity that adds value to the company's end users and customers. Examples of IT services are applications and processes that support business processes such as internet banking, customer subscription activation services.

Companies that adopt the ITIL framework ensure that their services are delivered according to a consistent and well-defined set of processes that include best practices to provide users with a predictable level of service. The benefits of ITIL include reducing service development and distribution costs, increasing customer satisfaction with stable service delivery, increasing the efficiency of IT staff, quality improvements, better service management metrics and increased flexibility in adapting services to changing business needs.

ITIL Training and Certificate Program Overview

In July 2013, ownership of ITIL was transferred to AXELOS; In this sense, AXELOS carries out activities such as maintaining the ITIL framework and accrediting education and examination institutions.

ITIL training and certification levels are offered at five different levels:

  1. ITIL Foundation

  2. ITIL Practitioner

  3. ITIL Intermediate (Service Life Cycle and Service Capability Categories Intermediate)

  4. Expert

  5. Master

Each level of ITIL certificates provides a different number of credits. As a result, a total of 22 credits are required to obtain the ITIL Expert certification. The ITIL Master certificate has its own set of requirements.

The chart below shows the structure of the certification scheme and the corresponding credits for each level.

What is ITIL?

Before reading the certificate details, it is important to understand how ITIL IT service frameworks are structured and what is delivered.

ITIL was first developed in the UK in the 1980s to create a set of standardized best practices for IT services used by government agencies. From this beginning, ITIL has been reorganized, reorganized and expanded into a comprehensive framework for managing the IT service delivery of companies of all sizes and industries.

Over time, IT has become a critical service delivery mechanism for companies that rely on complex computing resources to keep their businesses running and generating revenue. ITIL allows companies to define and implement documented, repeatable processes that help deliver new IT services and then focus on the big and small details about managing those services.

The ITIL Service Lifecycle consists of five application areas or phases with supporting principles at each stage:

  1. Service Strategy: The principles of Service Strategy address business processes, corporate governance and compliance, policies, corporate culture, decision-making processes about all of these, and ensure that the enterprise is geared towards service development.

  2. Service Design: This stage includes the design and evaluation of the processes (service level, availability, capacity, etc.) required to design new services or improve existing services.

  3. Service Migration: This phase covers the successful migration of the service into a live production environment, including post-development testing and quality control.

  4. Service Operation: This stage refers to the processes related to the services in the live production area being flawless and operational as defined in the service agreements and functions such as help desk support.

  5. Continuous Service Improvement: This stage deals with the continuous improvement of ITIL services based on operational feedback and service levels. It aims to follow policies and procedures, meet service level agreements, and thus make continuous improvement a corporate culture.

The ITIL framework provides companies with the necessary structure and discipline to design, develop, deliver and manage new or improved services on time and, most importantly, within budget. Before ITIL, the lack of service management discipline and expertise resulted in many IT projects being subject to budget overruns, out-of-scope, mismanagement and failure of projects due to lack of reproducible results. In addition to solving all these problems with highly structured methods and methods, ITIL is recognized as the most distinguished and common standard within IT service management frameworks.


Featured Posts
Search by Tags
  • LinkedIn Sosyal Simge
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page